Distracted Driving Facts

These days, much effort is put into raising awareness about the dangers of distracted driving. As with drunk driving accidents, education is a major component in prevention.

Following are some distracted driving facts that every California driver should know:

  1. California state law bans texting for drivers of all ages.
  2. California also bans use of handheld devices for all drivers, as well as hands-free cellphone use for bus drivers and novice drivers.
  3. Texting takes a driver's eyes off of the road for an average of five seconds, long enough for a vehicle going 55 miles per hour to travel the length of a football field. (Virginia Tech Transportation Institute)
  4. Twenty-three percent of drivers in all fatal crashes are in their 20s, but drivers in their 20s make up 38 percent of distracted drivers who were using cellphones in fatal accidents. (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration)
  5. Of all 15- to 19-year-olds involved in fatal accidents, 10 percent were reported to be distracted when the crash occurred. In fact, drivers in this age group make up the largest proportion of drivers involved in distracted driving accidents. (NHTSA)
  6. In 2014, there were 431,000 reported injuries and 3,179 reported deaths resulting from distracted driving accidents nationwide. (NHTSA)
  7. Texting requires one's cognitive, manual and visual attention. That is why texting while driving is generally understood to be the most dangerous form of driver distraction. A person needs all three capacities — cognitive, manual and visual — focused on the task of driving to operate a motor vehicle safely. (Distraction.gov)

Compensation For Victims Of Distracted Driving Accidents

If you or a loved one has been injured by a distracted driver, contact Sweeney, Sweeney & Sweeney to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case. From our offices in Temecula and Hemet, we help injury victims throughout Riverside County obtain the compensation they need and deserve.